The Carol Stream Chamber of Commerce invites all Chamber members to join one of our working committees to offer their suggestions and establish wonderful contacts through their volunteer efforts.

We offer the following committees with the committee chair’s name and phone number. If you are interested in working with one of these lively groups, please contact the committee Chair person.


Chairs: Rodney Pikul & Lynn Engebretson

Committee: Sue Widerski,Sandy Skibinski, Ed Zuniga, Shannon O’Connor

Mission Statement: “To welcome new chamber members, to have a stronger presence at Ribbon Cuttings, to assist current members, to increase visibility by being an ambassador in the chamber community, to support the chamber staff.”

Budget / Finance / Audit Committee

Chair: Bob McNees

Committee: Shannon Bachara

Community/Business Directory Committee

Chair:  Peter Pell (630) 665-3000

Member: Perry Johnson
This group plans the annual project of the community directory that goes out to all Carol Stream businesses, and is distributed also through the chamber office, the Village Hall, Park District and Library.

Documents & Procedures Committee

Chair: Bob McNees
Mission Statement: Develop overall general guidelines and procedures including tools for action planning for all committees.

Golf Committee

Chair:  John W. Wheeler, Jr. 
Members:  Dick O’Gorman,  Ed Zuniga, Scott Slobodecki, Bob Bagley, Tracy Conn
Mission Statement:  “To coordinate and facilitate the annual golf outing for the Chamber and its members.” This committee works to generate golfers, prizes and non-dues revenue for the Chamber while providing a lively golfing event for all to enjoy.

Holiday Social Committee

Chair:  Tammie Trombetta & Sue Palansky


This group plans the food, entertainment and theme of the annual event and obtains sponsors and Silent Auction items.

Member Promotion

Chair:  Lynn Engebretson & Amit Mehta

Mission Statement: “Board approved activities developed for the purpose of increasing and promoting awareness, of all Chamber member businesses.” A committee whose intention is to encourage Chamber members to work with each other for services and products.

Member Recruitment

Chair:  Tracy Conn & John W. Wheeler, Jr.


Nominations Committee

Chair: George Stavropoulos

To oversee the nominations of directors each March. Each year five board positions are up for election of a three year term.

Programs Committee

Chair:  George Stavropoulos
This committee plans and secures speakers for the monthly luncheons and also plans exciting and valuable networking programs.

Reverse Raffle Committee

Chair: Shirley Swanson & Bob Bagley

This Committee plans the St. Patrick’s Day theme event, complete with food to enhance this backwards-style raffle. Scenario: You have a limited-edition ticket. They call a number. That number loses. The last number to be called is the winner.


Chair: Robert McNees
Members:  John Wheeler, Jr, Tammie Trombetta, Debra Cartwright

Each year, the Chamber Foundation interviews and grants scholarships to graduation high school seniors.

Women In Business Committee

Chair: Mary Heitert
Member: Shirley Swanson, Jan Cruz, Sue Widerski, Jane Prochnow, Luanne Newman
This dynamic networking group meets every other month to present programs pertinent to women. If you are a Woman in Business, you must connect with this energizing group!